What Is The Tri-State Area?

Rohan Mathew

Updated on:

Tri-State Area

In our day to day life, we frequently hear the words Tri-State Area on TV or Radio in News and Commercials. But what does Tri-State Area mean? It means the area encompassing three neighboring states. That is the surroundings only of the adjacent suburbs and small cities that are on the boundaries of the three states. Let us learn more about it. You must have majorly heard the term on Radio, news or read in Magazines most commonly referred to the New York Metropolitan City

What Is The Tri-State Area?

Tri State Area

The Tri State Area is an unofficial term of contiguous United State. It means the adjacent suburbs and cities of town and metropolis that are across three states.

In simple words, Tri-state or Triple-State Area or Tri-State Region means towns and cities of three states having common boundaries. Many such Tri-State boundaries also have a Tripoint.

Tri-State Area Tripoint is where the boundary points of three countries meet, it is also known as Trijunction or tri-border area.

The Tri-State Regions that do not have a tripoint have more diffuse Tri-State Area Population that not only shares geographical boundaries and economy, they also bond via culture, trade, commerce, and industries.

Click here – How to Get the Best Lawyer For Your Immigration Case?

Definition Of Tri-State Area

Tri-State Area can be defined as the area consisting of three adjoining states having common boundaries in the United States, for example, Tri-State Area NYC.

There are 62 Tri-State Areas that have a Tri-point out of which 35 are on land and 27 are in the water.

The New York Tri-State

The New York Tri-State area covers all New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Washington, Delaware, D.D, West Virginia, and Virginia making it the largest Tri-State in the World by urban landmass. It is also one of the most populous urban agglomerations in the world.

The New York metropolitan area is the premier gateway for legal immigration to the U.S. It is not only known as the most important economic region in the world it’s the center of industries like finance, tourism, law, manufacturing, and education. You can say it is the epicenter of media, entertainment, and fashion industries too.

What Areas In New York Are Called Tri-state?

New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Maryland, Washington, Delaware, D.D, West Virginia, and Virginia are the area that is covered in New York Tri-state

New York Tri State Area Map

Here is the Map of New York Tri State Region

New York Tri-State Area Map

New York Tri State Area Explained In Video

Tri-State Areas In The United States

Below we have mentioned the Tri State Areas in the US that have no Tripoint.

  • The Delaware Valley:

The Delaware Valley Tri-State includes

  • Eastern Pennsylvania
  • South New Jersey
  • Delaware

Click here – How Do You Choose Eyeglasses?

  • The New York Metropolitan:

This Tri-State NYC has the areas of

  • New York
  • New Jersey
  • Connecticut

also, some parts of northern Pennsylvania is included

  • The Pittsburgh Tri-State:

The Pittsburgh’s Tri-State includes

  • Pennsylvania
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia
  • The Minisink Valley:

This Tri-State covers the area of

  • Orange Country, New York
  • Sussex County, New Jersey
  • Pike County, Pennsylvania
  • The Cincinnati Metropolitan Area:

This Metropolitan Tri-State Region Covers the regions of

  • Ohio
  • Kentucky
  • Indiana
  • The Pittsburg Tri-state Region

The Pittsburgh Tri state includes

  • Pennsylvania
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia
  • The Chicago Tri-State is known as Chicagoland:

The Chicagoland or Chicago Tri-State covers the area of

  • Illinois
  • Northwest Indiana
  • Wisconsin
  • The Greater Memphis:

The Greater Memphis is also known as Mid-South contains the following regions

  • West Tennessee
  • North Mississipi
  • The Arkansas Delta
  • The Dubuque & Lowa Tri-State:

The Dubuque Area encompasses

  • Jackson County, Lowa
  • Jo Daviess County, Illinois
  • Grant County, Wisconsin
  • The La Crosse, Wisconsin Tri-State

The La Crosse, Wisconsin TriState Area covers

  • La Crosse and Onalaska, Wisconsin
  • La Crescent, Hokah and Brownsville, Minnesota
  • New Albin and Lansing, Lowa
  • The Chattanooga & Tennessee Tri-State

This Tri-State covers the portions of these areas

  • Delaware
  • Pennsylvania
  • Washington D.C. Metropolitan Area

This Metropolitan Area includes the federal district and parts of

  • Maryland
  • Virginia
  • West Virginia
  • Joplin District

This Tri-State district includes

  • Oklahoma
  • Kansas
  • Missouri
  • The Illinois-Indiana-Kentucky Tri0State

This area covers the regions of

  • Evansville
  • Indiana
  • Adjacent Parts of Illinois & Kentucky
  • The Huntington-Ashland Metropolitan Area

This Metropolitan Area is also sometimes referred to as “Kyova” and it includes towns in ten counties of

  • Kentucky
  • Ohio
  • West Virginia
  • Wiregrass Region

Wiregrass Region has the areas of

  • Southeast Alabama
  • Southern Georgia
  • The Florida Panhandle


What Is Considered The Tri State Area?

The Area where the boundary of three different states meets at a single point is known as Tri-State Area. In many regions, the countries also share the Triple State Area. NYC Tri-State is the best example of a Tri-State

How Many Tri State Areas Are There In The US?

There are 62 points in the US where the three states meet. Out of which 35 are on the dry land and 27 are in water.

What Is NYC Tri-State?

The NYC Tri-State is the area where New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut share common boundaries. New York Tri State covers five boroughs of New York, Nassau & Suffolk County, Westchester County, Bergen, Passaic & Hudson Counties in New Jersey, and Fairfield County in Connecticut.

Why Are Major Tri States In America?

There are many three states in America that share common boundaries including many Tri points so major Tri State Areas in America.

Is Alabama A Tri-State Area?

Tri-State Corner is the local name for the tripoint between the U.S. states of Tennessee, Georgia, and Alabama.

What Is The Largest Tri State Area?

The New York Metropolitan Area

The New York metropolitan area, broadly referred to as the Tri-State area, is the largest metropolitan area in the world by urban landmass, encompassing 4,669.0 sq mi (12,093 km2).

Is DC A Tri-State Area?

The area that includes Washington, D.C. and the nearby parts of Maryland and Virginia is sometimes loosely referred to as a “tri-state area,” although the District of Columbia is not a state.

To Know Some Unknown Fact Visit Askcorran.com


The Tri-State Region or Area is commonly referred to The New York City where New York, New Jersey, and Connecticut share common boundaries. It is an official term to describe the meeting points of three states.  The Tri-State Area not only encompasses suburbs and cities on geographically common meeting points they also share common cultures, trade, commerce, and industries.